Raspberry Pi – Customising the desktop

When using the standard SD card OS as supplied for the Raspberry Pi, the desktop program provided is LXDE (Lightweight X11 Desktop Environment). It is similar to Windows XP or 7, but lacks a few controls. For example, it is very difficult to reposition the icons. There doesn’t seem to be any “snap-to-grid” for all of them at once. Right-clicking each icon does show a “Snap to Grid” item, but this will just as likely put it on top of another one nearby! So we have to move all the icons away, leaving a clear patch, then drag each one back roughly where we want it to be and hope “Snap to Grid” works properly. What were the designers thinking? Talk about primitive!

And did I mention that a small drag and drop distance causes an error? What? So you can’t juggle icons to any exact location either:

Small-Icon-Movement

The other bugbear is the double-click speed. I could find no way to adjust that. To get to the mouse control: LXDE button (at bottom left of screen) | Preferences | Keyboard and Mouse | Mouse:

Mouse preferences

All this shows is the acceleration and sensitivity. No double-click time. It is set very fast (probably .1 seconds or less). I’d like it to be set to maybe .25 seconds to save on finger-tendon damage with repetitive use.

THE SOLUTION:

Change over entirely to single-click mode,which I have used on Windows for years, and love it.

Hit the LXDE button | Accessories | File Manager | Edit | Preferences (not long to go, now) | General | Open files with single click.

Single click

Success! Amazingly, this also works for the desktop icons. [ They are, of course, just files too ]

11 thoughts on “Raspberry Pi – Customising the desktop

  1. Nice post. I was checking constantly this blog and I’m impressed! Extremely helpful info specifically the last part 🙂 I care for such information much. I was looking for this particular info for a long time. Thank you and good luck.

  2. Hi! I’ve been reading your site for a while now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Atascocita Texas! Just wanted to mention keep up the good work!

    1. Thanks for the contact, Agueda. Yes, I’m finding lots about the Raspberry Pi. I haven’t thought of any external control projects to do with it yet.

      One interesting future possibility is to connect up a video camera (there is a black connector for just that between the LAN and the HDMI ports). Then maybe take stills at fixed intervals or just turn it on when movement is detected… I know, there are plenty of $10,000 setups which can do that job “professionally” but hey, we’re not all THAT keen.

  3. hello there and thank you for your information – I have certainly picked up something new from right here. I did however expertise some technical issues using this website, as I experienced to reload the website lots of times previous to I could get it to load correctly. I had been wondering if your web hosting is OK? Not that I am complaining, but slow loading instances times will very frequently affect your placement in google and could damage your high-quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords. Well I’m adding this RSS to my email and can look out for a lot more of your respective interesting content. Ensure that you update this again very soon..

  4. I simply want to say I’m very new to blogging and site-building and actually liked this web blog. Most likely I’m going to bookmark your site . You amazingly have remarkable stories. Thanks a lot for sharing with us your web page.

  5. I simply want to mention I am just very new to blogs and certainly enjoyed you’re blog. Almost certainly I’m want to bookmark your site . You certainly have really good writings. Many thanks for sharing your webpage.

  6. Excellent goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to
    and you’re just extremely great. I actually like what you have acquired here, really like
    what you’re stating and the way in which you say it.
    You make it enjoyable and you still take care of to keep
    it sensible. I can’t wait to read far more from you.

    This is actually a great website.

  7. I was recommended this web site via my cousin. I am no
    longer certain whether or not this publish is written by way of him as nobody else recognise such exact approximately my trouble.

    You’re amazing! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

