Clock times using 6 numbers

A number puzzle has recently been given by Column8 in the Sydney Morning Herald newspaper.

The proposer wondered what “clock-times” between 1:00 am and 8:00 am he could make with the six numbers 75, 25, 1, 3, 5 and 7 (reminiscent of the puzzles on the TV game show Letters and Numbers).

For example, 7:40 can obviously be calculated as (75 – 1) • (3 + 7) i.e. 74 • 10 giving 740 (7:40 on the clock, so to speak). This also means that numbers like 570 or 799 do not count since they are not clock times.

It was actually claimed that every time except one had at least one solution. What a laborious thing to verify, without a decent little computer program of course.

However, starting from the top and working backwards, I soon found several gaps:

8:00 (75 + 25) • (1 + 7)

7:59

7:58 (75 – 25) • 3 • 5 + 7 + 1 OR (75 – 25 + 1) • 3 • 5 – 7

7:57 (75 + 25 + 3 + 5) • 7 + 1

7:56 75 • (3 + 7) + 5 + 1

7:55 75 • (3 + 7) + 5

7:54 75 • (3 + 7) + 5 – 1

7:53 ((75 – 25) • 5 + 1) • 3

7:52

7:51: 75 • (3 + 7) + 1

7:50 75 • (3 + 7)

7:49 75 • (3 + 7) – 1

7:48

7:47

7:46 75 • (3 + 7) – 5 + 1

7:45 75 • (3 + 7) – 5

7:44 75 • (3 + 7) – 5 – 1

7:43 (75 – 25) • 3 • 5 – 7

7:42 (75 + 25 + 1 + 5) • 7

7:41

7:40 (75 – 1) • (3 + 7)

The proposer has now revealed that all of the numbers except 7:59 have solutions. I was amazed.

After more scribbling, here’s my solution from “outside the square” for this number:

7:59 (75 + 1) • (3 + 7) – ( √ 25 ) / 5 = 76 • 10 – 1

Who can deny that square root is an arithmetic operation?

There remain the other incomplete entries – any solutions?

2 thoughts on “Clock times using 6 numbers

  1. This design is incredible! You obviously know how to keep a reader amused.
    Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start
    my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Wonderful job.
    I really loved what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it.
    Too cool!

  2. Hmm it seems like your weblog ate my initial comment (it had been extremely long) so I guess I will just sum it up what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your weblog. I as well am an aspiring weblog blogger but I am nonetheless new towards the entire thing. Do you’ve any factors for rookie blog writers? I’d definitely value it.|Woah! I’m really digging the template/theme of this web site. It is easy, yet efficient. A great deal of times it’s very hard to get that “perfect balance” between superb usability and appearance. I must say you have carried out a awesome occupation with this. Additionally, the weblog loads very fast for me on Opera. Superb Weblog!|Do you thoughts if I quote a couple of of your posts so long as I offer credit score and sources back to your blog? My blog site is within the precise same niche as yours and my users would genuinely benefit from a few of the info you present here. Please allow me know if this okay with you. Numerous thanks!|Hi would you thoughts letting me know which webhost you’re working with? I’ve loaded your blog in 3 completely various internet browsers and I must say this weblog loads a great deal quicker then most. Can you recommend a great web hosting provider at a reasonable price? Thanks, I appreciate it!|Superb website you have here but I was curious about in the event you knew of any message boards that cover exactly the same topics discussed in this article? I would truly love to be a component of on-line community where I can get feedback from other knowledgeable individuals that share the same interest. In the event you have any suggestions, please let me know. Cheers!|Howdy! This really is my initial comment right here so I just wanted to give a fast shout out and tell you I genuinely enjoy studying your posts. Can you suggest every other blogs/websites/forums that deal with the same topics? Thanks a great deal!|Do you have a spam problem on this blog; I also am a blogger, and I was wondering your situation; we have created some good methods and we are searching to exchange methods with others, why not shoot me an e-mail if interested.

Leave a Reply

