GIMP – Restoring the Layers Dialog

GIMP is an Open Source program for manipulating images. See the About window:

GIMP About
About GIMP

When starting the program, several windows are opened including (usually) a Layers Dialog box which gives you a way of manipulating the layers of a composition. When closing, however, the temptation is to close all the windows visible.

Big mistake.

All you need to do is to close the main window (the one with the File menu).

By closing the Layers Dialog before the main window, next time GIMP opens it will not display that dialog.

In previous editions, there was a Dialog entry under File to help you to recover the missing window. However, in the current (2.6.7) version, you must go to Windows | Dockable Dialogs | Layers to restore sanity.

GIMP missing Layers options
GIMP missing Layers options
6 thoughts on “GIMP – Restoring the Layers Dialog

  1. I’d love to be “the first to like this post”, but unfortunately it doesn’t work this way for me: I open the “Windows–>Dockable Dialogues” , choose “Layers” and … nothing happens :(.
    What DOES work, however, is going to “Recently closed Docks” in the same menu. There I choose “Layers etc.” and voila, it is back!
    As I can’t imagine I’m the only one to have this problem, I hope this little addition of mine will be of assistance :).
    Thanks for you post, too!

  2. Thank you for this post. This is something I have struggled with for weeks. – Choosing the Layers dialog worked for me. Thanks again, I bookmarked your site.

  3. Thanks Kostya, your way certainly helped me. When I installed Gimp I accidentally closed the Layers dialog box. Going to Windows and choosing Layers did noting for me either….. But since you were so kind to post your method, I tried it and VOILA!!! It worked, so thanks heaps 🙂

  4. Thank you, thank you, thank you! Something so simple, yet not intuitive to anyone who isn’t GIMP savvy. I know this is an old post, but please don’t ever delete it!

Leave a Reply

